About Us

The Greenwich Society aims to make Greenwich a better place for all who live and work here, to promote the town's heritage, to improve its amenities and to make it attractive to visitors.

The Greewich Society is -

  • a Registered Charity 262023
  • a member of the London Forum of Amenity and Civic Societies
  • a member of Civic Voice

The President of the Society is Ursula Bowyer

The business of the Greenwich Society is overseen by the Executive Committee -

Office/Role Name Sub-committees etc.
 Chair Richard Baglin Chairman's Committee, Membership, Traffic
 Vice Chair  Alan Bailey Chairman's Committee, Planning & Regeneration (chair), Membership
 Honorary Secretary Jonathan Chandler Chairman's Committee, Membership, Events, GLUG
 Honorary Treasurer  David Matheson Chairman's Committee, Membership, Traffic
Membership Secretary Franklin Steves Chairman's Committee, Membership, Newsletter, Traffic
Blackheath Joint Working Party Philip Craig  
  Jackie Hicks Chairman's Committee, Events (Chair)
  Tim Barnes  Events
  John Evans  Membership
  Derek Fordham  Aircraft Noise
  Lesley Hodsdon  Traffic, GLUG
  Helen McIntosh  Events
  Andy Smith  Traffic, GLUG
  Ray Smith  Planning & Regeneration, East Greenwich, Membership
  Lorraine Turton  
  Pieter van der Merwe  

 The committee is assisted by a group of non-executive members: -

Name Role(s)
Harold Marchant Newsletter Editor
Cherry Bentley  Events
Philip Binns  Greenwich Conservation Group (convenor)
Stella Booth Events
Ursula Bowyer President
Ann Broadbent Events
Richard Butt  Planning & Regeneration
Matthew Carmona Planning & Regeneration
John Franklin Planning & Regeneration, Conservation Group
Clare Marchant Newsletter editorial team
Joan Mitchell Events
Margaret Morris Traffic, Events
Michael Pike  
Geoff Smith  Planning & Regeneration
  Chris Todhunter Planning & Regeneration
 Helma Zebregs Events